Alicia Armstrong – Purchasing Assistant – Student Apprentice Perspective

alicia-armstrong

Alicia Armstrong, age 25

Sentinel Career Center Graduate

Assistant in Purchasing at Vaughn Industries

 

How did you learn about apprenticeship?

I learned about the apprenticeship through my career center.   Vaughn Industries came into talk to my class about the opportunities.  

What or who inspired you to pursue apprenticeship?

I really wanted to be an electrician and I figured apprenticeship was the best route.   

Where do you work and what is your role?

I work at Vaughn Industries and I am an assistant in the Purchasing Department, but before that I worked in the field as a journeyman electrician and data tech for seven years. 

What did it mean to you to receive a paycheck while training?

To receive a paycheck while training was a big deal to me.   I think that it helped me jump start my life as an adult.  While all the kids I went to school with were out partying and going to college I was out making money, learning the trade and establishing a good life for myself.   I feel as if I got a jump start and am sitting pretty all because of the choice I made.  

Why did you choose apprenticeship over the traditional college route?

I chose the apprenticeship so I could learn about the job and make money at the same time.  I didn’t know what to go to college for, but what I did know was that I wanted to be an electrician.   That is why I chose the route that I did. 

Would you recommend apprenticeship to your closest friends?

Yes, I would recommend the apprenticeship to my friends if they were interested in the trades and wanted to make good money. 

In your opinion, what’s the best way to attract more talented apprentices like yourself? How can we better inform the community about these excellent opportunities?

I honestly think Vaughn does a good job at informing/attracting talented apprentices.    They go to the schools in the area and talk about the apprenticeship.  

About Vanguard-Sentinel Career & Technology Centers

Vanguard-Sentinel Career & Technology Centers (VSCTC) offer high school career-training programs as well as full and short-time adult workforce development classes on two campuses in Fremont and Tiffin, OH. We offer more than a “traditional” high school by providing career-technical education using a blended learning environment that allows students access to their curriculum on-line…anywhere, anytime.

About Vaughn Industries, LLC

Vaughn Industries, LLC is a contractor based in Carey, Ohio providing nationwide construction of Building Tomorrow’s Energy Resources.    From the first residential electrical job that Founder, Ron Vaughn, performed over 53 years ago, our services have grown into the industrial/commercial sectors, including electrical, mechanical (HVAC and Pipefitting), plumbing, high voltage substation, high voltage transmission and distribution, and renewable energy construction.  We are ranked 109 out of the 600 specialty contractors by McGraw-Hill ENR. Vaughn Industries currently employs over 550 full-time employees between the corporate office in Carey, Ohio and our central Ohio office in Lewis Center.

https://vaughnindustries.com/

Leave a Reply

