Kyle Moomaw – Registered Apprentice – Student Apprentice and Parent Perspective

kyle-moomaw

Kyle Moomaw, Age 20

Smithville High School Graduate

Registered Apprentice at LuK USA, LLC

 

How did you learn about apprenticeship?

I learned about the apprenticeship program through my grandpa. He does robotics through LuK at a school.

What or who inspired you to pursue apprenticeship?

Being able to work with my hands and getting paid to learn!

Where do you work and what is your role?

Right now I am in the mechanical side and in the middle of my Plant Engineering Rotation. I am in charge of moving machines from one location to another inside the plant with a journeyman and one other apprentice.

What did it mean to you to receive a paycheck while training?

It felt amazing to get paid while still in training. It’s a great feeling to go through college and be debt-free. A lot of my friends will be paying student loans for most of their lives! I will walk out debt free, with an associate’s degree and my Journeyman card.

Why did you choose apprenticeship over the traditional college route?

To be honest, I didn’t like school at all! Senior year I chose the easy classes because it was senior year and I wanted to have fun. I also looked at going to Wayne because of its inexpensive pre-requisite classes. I took my ACT and wasn’t happy with my score. That’s when my grandpa told me about the apprenticeship program.

What’s the biggest obstacle you’ve overcome in your time as an apprentice?

My biggest obstacle was knowledge. I didn’t know how to do a lot with machine fixing. I grew up on a farm and knew some tricks and skills, but I found out I didn’t know a lot when I started working. About eight months into my program, I met a journeyman who was awesome and a hard-worker. He heard me say “I can’t” on the job. Later that day, he told me to never say that again and that when in a situation like that, you “adapt and overcome”. From then on, that’s what I always say when I’m in a tough situation.

What’s the best way to attract more talented apprentices like yourself?

Going into high schools and telling juniors and seniors about it. Nowadays, a lot of teachers are pushing students to go to college. Going to the college fair was a great idea to share information with the public.

 

Randy Moomaw, Kyle’s Parent

How did you and your student learn about apprenticeship?

We learned about apprenticeship through my dad’s contacts at LuK.

What sparked your student’s interest in apprenticeship?

Kyle loves to work with his hands. We have a farm and he has always enjoyed working here.

Where does Kyle work and what is his role?

He is in the maintenance world and has had rotations all over the plant. He has enjoyed a lot of different responsibilities.

Initially, did you support the idea of apprenticeship?

We have supported the idea from the beginning. LuK has a great reputation in our community and we liked the idea of Kyle getting involved as an apprentice where he could learn on the job.

Why did you and Kyle choose apprenticeship over the traditional college route?

Kyle is a hard worker and loves to work with his hands. College wasn’t going to be a great fit for him so we were happy that he found a connection with LuK.

Would you recommend apprenticeship to other parents? Why?

I would recommend this to other parents whose children might not fit the traditional college path.

What else would you like to tell us about Kyle’s experience?

Kyle has had some great experiences with some of his journeymen. He has appreciated the more challenging experiences and the ones where his journeymen have pushed him to get things done and have given him the opportunity to work hard.

About LuK USA, LLC

LuK USA LLC manufactures and supplies drive train components for the automobile industry. Its products include torque converters, dual mass flywheels, continuously variable transmissions, release systems, self adjusting clutches, torque converter clutches, and auto-shift gearboxes. The company was founded in 1977 and is based in Wooster, Ohio. LuK USA LLC operates as a subsidiary of LuK GmbH & Co. KG.

Leave a Reply

