Matthew Williams – Pre-Apprentice – Student Apprentice and Parent Perspective

matthew-williams-2016

Matthew Williams, age 17

Miami Valley Career Technology Center Student

Pre-Apprentice at Ferguson Construction

 

How did you learn about apprenticeship?

I learned about apprenticeship during Sophomore Career Days at MVCTC.

What or who inspired you to pursue apprenticeship?

My father inspired me. He pushed me to do well my junior year at MVCTC so I could get into the apprenticeship program.

Where do you work and what is your role?

I work at Ferguson Construction Company, and my role is to help out with the experienced workers there as a general laborer.

What’s your favorite part of your job?

My favorite part of my job is the people I work with. They are good, funny, and kind-hearted people.

Why did you choose apprenticeship over the traditional college route?

I chose the apprenticeship over college to get an even further head start, and more schooling after high school is just not for me.

Would you recommend apprenticeship to your closest friends?

I would and already have recommended the apprenticeship program to my closest friends. I would recommend it to anyone!

What’s the best way to attract more talented apprentices like yourself?

Send people like myself and other apprentices all over America to talk to kids at a young age and help convince them to do apprenticeship.

 

Dennis Williams – Matthew’s Parent

How did you and Matthew learn about apprenticeship?

We learned about apprenticeship at Sophomore Career Days at MVCTC.

What sparked his interest in apprenticeship?

The opportunity to have a job and gain work experience at the same time.

Where does Matthew work and what is his role?

Matthew works at Ferguson Construction Company as a general laborer.

Initially, did you support the idea of apprenticeship?

Yes, very much.

What surprised you most about apprenticeship?

I was most surprised that my son would also be getting paid.

What did it mean to you that your son received a paycheck while training?

My son was getting a head start on his career, and learned what it takes to make a paycheck and save money.

About Miami Valley Career Technology Center

MVCTC is positioned to influence economic development in five southwestern Ohio counties (Montgomery, Warren, Preble, Darke, and Miami) by preparing students for the 21st century workforce. Students receive challenging, career-focused education, as well as a rigorous academic foundation. This combination has resulted in an array of innovative applications and knowledge that enable MVCTC students to enter post secondary education or the job market with a high comfort level of competency and to be prepared for the global workforce.

http://www.mvctc.com/

About Ferguson Construction Company

ince 1920, Ferguson Construction Company has maintained the simple philosophy always to exceed customer expectations. This commitment has served us well, as we’ve experienced steady growth, now operating four offices to serve our clients in Ohio and Indiana. Through the highest level of craftsmanship, dedicated personnel, and an exemplary safety record, we remain an industry leader in providing high-quality construction services in a timely, cost-effective manner from conception to completion.

https://ferguson-construction.com/

Leave a Reply

